International Whisky Competition®
Copyright 2010 - 2019 ● all rights reserved.

The Golden Barrel Trophy

Designed in Switzerland and unveiled at Diageo Archive, the Golden Barrel Trophy represents the pinnacle of excellence in whisky making, showcasing two lions holding a whisky barrel. It is casted in bronze with 24K golden leaves on each side of the barrel. The Golden Barrel will be kept by the winner of the Whisky of the Year until next year’s competition and the name of each winner will be engraved in its marble base to commemorate the history of each annual Whisky of the Year. Basically, the Golden Barrel is to whisky what the World Cup is to football.



2018 Winner

Graeme Cruickshank, Master Distiller at Aberlour Distillery
2018 Whisky of the Year: Aberlour A'Bunadh - 97.4 Points



2017 Winner

Brendan McCarron, Ardbeg Head of Maturing Whisky Stocks, with Dr Bill Lumsden, Ardbeg Director of Distilling and Whisky Stocks
2017 Whisky of the Year: Ardbeg Kelpie Committee Exclusive - 97.3 Points

ard_oa2-27 3.jpg


2016 Winner

Dr Bill Lumsden, The Glenmorangie Company, Director of Distilling and Whisky Stocks
2016 Whisky of the Year: Glenmorangie Signet - 97 Points


2015 Winner

Dr Jim Beveridge, Master Blender at Diageo
2015 Whisky of the Year: John Walker & Sons King George V - 97 Points

International Whisky Competition® ● Copyright 2010 - 2019 ● all rights reserved